CCIA Response To U.S., European Agreement On The Withdrawal of Digital Taxes

BY Heather Greenfield
October 21, 2021

Washington — The U.S. Department of Treasury has released a Joint Statement from the United States, Austria, France, Italy, Spain, and the United Kingdom regarding a compromise on digital services taxes (DSTs) in light of the October 8 OECD/G20 Inclusive Framework announcement. Under the agreement, the countries will work together to roll back digital taxes that some countries began implementing ahead of the broader multilateral global tax agreement.

Concurrently, the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative has announced it will terminate the currently-suspended additional duties on goods of these countries that had been adopted in the DST Section 301 investigations.

The Computer & Communications Industry Association has long called for a withdrawal of unilateral digital taxes and supported the USTR’s investigations into these. Rather than artificially target certain industries, CCIA has called for a broad, global tax reform, which we welcomed on October 8.

The following can be attributed to CCIA President Matt Schruers:

“We welcome the leadership of the United States, Austria, France, Italy, Spain, and the United Kingdom in reaching a compromise that will lead to the removal of existing digital services taxes.

“While the most appropriate action would be an immediate withdrawal of these discriminatory unilateral measures in exchange for terminating the trade investigations, we stand ready to work with policymakers to see the swift implementation of the global framework, and ensure that no new discriminatory measures are introduced in the future.”

“It is encouraging that the new consensus on global tax reform already appears to be reducing international tax and trade tensions.”

Related Articles

CCIA Welcomes Launch of Indo-Pacific Economic Framework

May 23, 2022

Washington –  The United States and twelve countries have announced the formal launch of the Indo-Pacific Economic Framework (IPEF) earlier today in Tokyo. The IPEF will split into four pillars: trade; supply chain resiliency; clean energy and infrastructure; and tax and anti-corruption. It is expected that participating countries will choose which pillars to join in…

CCIA Encouraged By Second Meeting of EU-U.S. Trade & Technology Council

May 16, 2022

Brussels, BELGIUM — EU and U.S. diplomats met in Paris on May 15-16 for the second meeting of the EU-U.S. Trade & Technology Council. Leadership discussed ongoing strategies for strengthening the transatlantic partnership and to address global trade challenges, with a particular focus on transatlantic response to the Russian invasion of Ukraine. The two sides…

Global Industry Recommendations on ITA Expansion

May 16, 2022

Washington — The Computer & Communications Industry Association joined over 40 other industry associations from around the world in a statement to support the launch of another round of negotiations of the Information Technology Agreement and expand product coverage of one of the World Trade Organization’s (WTO) most successful trade agreements. Since its creation in…